top of page

Personal Bill of Rights


Do you give too much?

Some relationships are easy and others need work. Sometimes a relationship that started out feeling easy hits some stressful times. There could be financial stress, illness, relocation, even pregnancy and children, and suddenly a lot more is expected. Unless both people put the work in, are prepared to grow, adapt and change, things can get very rocky.

Sometimes holding on and putting in the work through the stressful times pays off and the relationship ends up stronger, deeper, and better, despite the heartache. Both people have developed a stronger sense of self, of knowing who they are, knowing the ideals and values that are important to them. Through that personal growth work the relationship also grows.

Sometimes no matter how hard you try, how much you put in, how far back you bend, things just get worse.

But how do you know how much to give, how much to take, when to hold on and when things have gone too far to ever be healthy again?

In a healthy relationship there will be mutual support and a loving balance of give and take. In a healthy relationship you won’t be expected to …. Well there’s a lot that needs to go both ways rather than just one. Have a read through this Personal Bill of rights. I don’t know who wrote this, but it’s a good list.

Do you have these rights in your relationship and do you also give these rights to the other?

Personal Bill of Rights

1. I have the right to ask for what I want. 2. I have the right to say no to requests or demands I cannot meet. 3. I have the right to express all of my feelings, positive or negative. 4. I have the right to change my mind. 5. I have the right to make mistakes and not have to be perfect. 6. I have the right to follow my own values and standards. 7. I have the right to say no to anything when I feel I am not ready, it is unsafe, or it violates my values. 8. I have the right to determine my own priorities. 9. I have the right not to be responsible for others' behaviors, actions, feelings, or problems. 10. I have the right to expect honesty from others. 11. I have the right to be angry at someone I love. 12. I have the right to be uniquely myself. 13. I have the right to feel scared and say, "I'm afraid." 14. I have the right to say, "I don't know." 15. I have the right not to give excuses or reasons for my behaviour. 16. I have the right to make decisions based on my feelings. 17. I have the right to my own needs for personal space and time. 18. I have the right to be playful and frivolous. 19. I have the right to be healthier than those around me. 20. I have the right to be in a non-abusive environment. 21. I have the right to make friends and be comfortable around people. 22. I have the right to change and grow. 23. I have the right to have my needs and wants respected by others. 24. I have the right to be treated with dignity and respect. 25. I have the right to be happy.

In a future post I plan to talk about how I can use a list like this, to personalise your Kinesiology healing session. It has a lot to do with your subconscious belief systems which undermine and sabotage your best attempts to be healthy and happy. If you’d rather find out sooner than that and do some serious work on healing, you can book your session now.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page